Health System

The Seneca Nation Health System (SNHS) provides comprehensive health services to the Allegany, Cattaraugus, Chautauqua, Erie and Niagara (except the Tonawanda and Tuscarora Territories) Counties in the State of New York, and Warren County in the State of Pennsylvania. Health services are offered to all those persons within the Purchased/Referred Care Service Delivery Area (PRCSDA) and are defined as eligible under federal and tribal guidelines. Services have been available since the SNHS was established on April 1, 1976. From the beginning, the SNHS has been based on the needs of the people and has continued to grow and expand its available services to serve the changing needs of our community.

Health care service is provided through the Lionel R. John Health Center (LRJHC) on the Allegany Territory and the Cattaraugus Indian Reservation Health Center (CIRHC) and the Community Health and Wellness Center (CHWC) on the Cattaraugus Territory.

The SNHS operates two community health centers that provide comprehensive primary care in the treatment and prevention of acute and chronic illnesses and/or injuries to all service-eligible Native Americans. The health program consists of the following components: Medical, Diabetes, Dental, Optical, Pharmacy, Behavioral Health, Child and Family Services, HOPE (Health, Outreach, Prevention and Education), and Environmental and Public Health/Engineering Services.

These components provide the following range of services: family health care, prenatal care, health maintenance and prevention screenings, well baby and child care, laboratory, pharmacy, nutrition and dietary counseling, family planning, health education, prescription exercise, transportation services, mental health and substance abuse counseling, outreach and environmental health.

Supplemental urgent care is provided on a referral arrangement and contractual basis when a patient/client's needs cannot be met at the health centers. Services are provided by a multi-disciplinary team of health professionals including staff physicians, pharmacists, clinical nurses, family nurse practitioners, physician assistants, dentists, optometrists, nutritionists, social workers, medical records professionals, and other additional support staff.

Native Connections Youth Group Meeting - November 9th

Posted in: Health System

Read More

Please join us in this great opportunity to become a leader in your community! Bring ideas of what you want to do for upcoming months. Accepting new members! Snacks & refreshments provided! To be held in Room 126 for 10-12 year olds and the Grand Room for 13-18 year olds.

For more information, contact BHU at 716-532-5583 or Patti Brisley at 716-257-0263.

NC Youth Group Meetings _NOV2016_Catt

Domestic Violence Awareness Event - October 26th

Posted in: Health System

Read More

Come join us for a presentation of Domestic Violence Awareness and Safety by Brian Mohr. A light dinner of chili, corn bread, and dessert will be served; supply will be limited. Wear purple to be entered for giveaways & door prizes! Sponsored by Child & Family Services. For more information, contact SNI Child & Family Services at 716-532-8223.

DV Flyer

More News